Schedule

 

Week-by-Week Course Schedule

Course Meets: T/R 1:50-3:05 pm, PACCAR 103

 

WEEK 1

Tuesday, January 15 Intro to course and each other

 

Thursday, January 17

Peoples, Places and Patterns:  Using Geography to Understand the World

Reading:  pp. 37-44, Chpt. 2 in textbook

 

WEEK 2

Tuesday, January 22

Peoples, Places and Patterns:  Using Geography to Understand the World

Reading:  pp. 45-50 (stop at section on Maps), Chpt. 2 in textbook

 

Thursday, January 24

Peoples, Places and Patterns:  Using Geography to Understand the World

Reading:  pp. 50-end, Chpt. 2 in textbook AND “Prisoners of Geography,” by Ricardo Hausman, Foreign Policy, Jan/Feb 2001 (published online Nov 20, 2009), pp.44-53.

 

 

WEEK 3

Tuesday, January 29

Geography Quiz

Anthropology, Intro to the Study of Cultures and Peoples

Reading:  pp. 63-73, Chpt. 3 in textbook

 

Thursday, January 31

Levels of Culture

Reading:  pp. 73-77 in textbook

 

WEEK 4

Tuesday, February 5

[Dr B - ill]

 

Thursday, February 7

Intercultural Relations

Reading:  pp. 77-end of Chpt. 3 in textbook

 

WEEK 5

Tuesday, February 12

[Snow Day]

 

Thursday, February 14

 

WEEK 6

Tuesday, February 19

End of Culture unit.  Pop Archaeology Activity in Class

Thursday, February 21

Visit from Study Abroad, Alisha Lombardi

The Past in the Present:  What is History? 

Reading:  pp. 13-22, Chpt. 1 in textbook

 

WEEK 7

Tuesday, February 26

Historical Interpretation in International Conflict

Reading:  pp. 23-end of Chpt. 1 in textbook

 

Thursday, February 28

Economics and International Development

Reading: pp. 91-109, Chpt. 4

 

WEEK 8

Tuesday, March 5

Economics and International Development

Reading:  pp. 109-end of Chpt. 4  

 

Thursday, March 7

[no class] In lieu of Quiz 2: Pop Archeology Final Drafts due - upload to Bb under Graded Assignments > Pop Archeology Assignment > Pop Archeology Final Draft link to TurnItIn upload

Post to Blackboard:  What region and issue have you chosen for your research project?  Graded Assignments > Research Topics > Research Topics TurnItIn upload link

 

Spring Break Week!  March 11-15   Midterm Grades due Tuesday, March 12

 

WEEK 9

Tuesday, March 19  

Conflict and Policy:  Nation-states and Non-State Actors in the Global System

Reading:  pp. 125-134, Chpt. 5

 

Thursday, March 21

Conflict and Policy:  Nation-states and Non-State Actors in the Global System 

Reading:  pp. 134-end of Chpt. 5

 

WEEK 10 – Dr B at conference – sub or film

Tuesday, March 26

Research Session at Foley

 

Thursday, March 28

Research Session at Foley - upload Working Bibliography to Bb (in lieu of Quiz 3)

 

WEEK 11

Tuesday, April 2

Regional Introduction to Sub-Saharan Africa and the International Community

 

Thursday, April 4

Regional Introduction: Latin America

 

WEEK 12

Tuesday, April 9

Regional Introduction:  Middle East and North Africa

 

Thursday, April 11

Regional Introduction:  East Asia and the Pacific; Demography and Development

 

WEEK 13

Tuesday, April 16

Group Pres

 

Thursday, April 18

Group Pres

 

WEEK 14

Tuesday, April 23

Group Pres

 

Thursday, April 25

Group Pres

 

WEEK 15

Tuesday, April 30

Group Pres

 

Thursday, May 2

Course Wrap up and review for final

 

FINALS WEEK/END OF SEMESTER

Final Reflection Papers due by time for Final Exam

Thursday, May 9, 10:30-12:30

 

}